The WIF 14th Annual Oscar® Nominees Toast

Presented by Jane Walker by Johnnie Walker

Every year since 2007, WIF has gathered together the women nominated for Academy Awards® at a celebration that offers an opportunity for networking in a way that has historically been reserved for the men in the film industry. When we first held this event, there were only 40 women nominated; this year, we honor 72 women who are up for awards at next month’s Oscars ceremony.

While this year we had to gather virtually, more than 50 nominees (pictured below in our yearly “class photo”) joined us for a private event on Sunday morning, March 28, 2021, to get to know each other and share a toast presented by Jane Walker by Johnnie Walker. The event was hosted by Oscar, Emmy®, and Tony® winner Viola Davis, who is nominated this year for Leading Actress in Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, and Oscar-winning producer and WIF Board President Emerita Cathy Schulman. Nominees “zoomed” in from seven U.S. states and eleven countries across five continents.

Row 1 (L to R): Maite Alberdi, Laura Allen, Sophia Nahli Allison, Mollye Asher, Maria Bakalova, Kaouther Ben Hania, Sara Bolder, Alexandra Byrne, Ceán Chaffin
Row 2 (L to R): Glenn Close, Dalia Colli, Charlotte Cook, Michelle Couttolenc, Bina Daigeler, Viola Davis, Andra Day, Lauren Domino, Alice Doyard
Row 3 (L to R): Janice Duncan, Pippa Ehrlich, Coya Elliott, Cathy Featherstone, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox, Jena Friedman, H.E.R., Shira Hochman
Row 4 (L to R): Elizabeth Keenan, Vanessa Kirby, Elvira Lind, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Dana Murray, Farah Nabulsi, Mia Neal, Christina Oh, Karen O’Hara
Row 5 (L to R); Jan Pascale, Laura Pausini, Nina Pedrad, Kori Rae, Susan Ruzenski, Madeline Sharafian, Sofia Sondervan, Claudia Stolze, Diana Stoughton
Row 6 (L to R): Trish Summerville, Tiara Thomas, Diane Warren, Gigi Williams, Jamika Wilson, Yuh-Jung Youn, Jasmila Žbanić

Nominees in attendance were:

  • Maite Alberdi, Documentary Feature – The Mole Agent
  • Laura Allen, Makeup and Hairstyling – Emma.
  • Sophia Nahli Allison, Documentary Short – A Love Song for Latasha
  • Mollye Asher, Picture – Nomadland
  • Maria Bakalova, Supporting Actress – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Kaouther Ben Hania, International Feature – The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
  • Sara Bolder, Documentary Feature – Crip Camp
  • Alexandra Byrne, Costume Design – Emma.
  • Ceán Chaffin, Picture – Mank
  • Glenn Close, Supporting Actress – Hillbilly Elegy
  • Dalia Colli, Makeup and Hairstyling – Pinocchio
  • Charlotte Cook, Documentary Short – Do Not Split
  • Michelle Couttolenc, Sound – Sound of Metal
  • Bina Daigeler, Costume Design – Mulan
  • Viola Davis, Leading Actress – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Andra Day, Leading Actress – The United States vs. Billie Holiday
  • Lauren Domino, Documentary Feature – Time
  • Alice Doyard, Documentary Short – Colette
  • Janice Duncan, Documentary Short – A Love Song for Latasha
  • Pippa Ehrlich, Documentary Feature – My Octopus Teacher
  • Coya Elliott, Sound – Soul
  • Cathy Featherstone, Production Design – The Father
  • Emerald Fennell, Picture, Director, Original Screenplay – Promising Young Woman
  • Ashley Fox, Picture – Promising Young Woman
  • Jena Friedman, Adapted Screenplay – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • H.E.R., Original Song – Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Shira Hochman, Live Action Short – White Eye
  • Elizabeth Keenan, Production Design – News of the World
  • Vanessa Kirby, Leading Actress – Pieces of a Woman
  • Elvira Lind, Live Action Short – The Letter Room
  • Eryn Krueger Mekash, Makeup and Hairstyling – Hillbilly Elegy
  • Dana Murray, Animated Feature – Soul
  • Farah Nabulsi, Live Action Short – The Present
  • Mia Neal, Makeup and Hairstyling – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Christina Oh, Picture – Minari
  • Karen O’Hara, Production Design – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Jan Pascale, Production Design – Mank
  • Laura Pausini, Original Song – The Life Ahead
  • Nina Pedrad, Adapted Screenplay – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Kori Rae, Animated Feature – Onward
  • Susan Ruzenski, Live Action Short – Feeling Through
  • Madeline Sharafian, Animated Short – Burrow
  • Sofia Sondervan, Live Action Short – The Letter Room
  • Claudia Stolze, Makeup and Hairstyling – Emma.
  • Diana Stoughton, Production Design – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Trish Summerville, Costume Design – Mank
  • Tiara Thomas, Original Song – Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Diane Warren, Original Song – The Life Ahead
  • Gigi Williams, Makeup and Hairstyling – Mank
  • Jamika Wilson, Makeup and Hairstyling – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Yuh-Jung Youn, Supporting Actress – Minari
  • Jasmila Žbanić, International Feature – Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)