Sixty Hollywood leaders and influencers, including studio heads, agency partners, senior network executives, talent and guild representatives have come together with Women In Film and Sundance Institute to create a formal action plan to further gender parity in the media industry. ReFrame employs a unique strategy, a peer-to-peer approach, in which ReFrame Ambassadors engage with senior, industry decision-makers at Partner Companies to implement ReFrame programs.

Formerly known as the Systemic Change Project, ReFrame builds on more than five years of research in collaboration with the Media, Diversity and Social Change Initiative at USC Annenberg and an October 2015 convening of this group. Its goals are to provide research, support, and a practical framework that can be used by Partner Companies to mitigate bias during the creative decision-making and hiring process, celebrate successes, and measure progress toward a more gender-representative industry on all levels.

CONTACT: Alison Emilio, Director of ReFrame, 
Learn more at



ReFrame Ambassadors will introduce programs and collaborative practices designed by the group to address the key levers in the media ecosystem. Initial programs include:

(1) a 14-point Culture Change and Production Roadmap to mitigate bias from corporate practice and creative decisions that will yield more balanced hiring of women from all backgrounds in film, TV, and media.

(2) the ReFrame Rise Directors Program providing a two year sponsorship that will provide high-level endorsement and support for female directors poised to lead studio features and television projects.

(3) accreditation for progress towards female-driven content in the form of a ReFrame Stamp certification

In addition, ReFrame will distill existing data and conduct new original research to prove that diverse content is economically feasible and makes good business sense.


ReFrame Ambassadors

Adriana Alberghetti Partner, WME
Stephanie Allain Award-winning Producer & Founder, Homegrown Pictures
Victoria Alonso EVP, Physical Production, Marvel Studios
Len Amato President, HBO Films
Darla Anderson Award-winning Producer
Chris Andrews Motion Picture Agent, CAA
Rowena Arguelles Motion Picture Agent, CAA
Bonnie Arnold Award-winning Producer & Co-President Feature Animation, Dreamworks Animation
Lorrie Bartlett Partner, ICM
Glen Basner CEO, FilmNation Entertainment
Maria Bello Award-winning Producer, Actor, & Author
Andrea Berloff Award-winning Film & TV Writer
Kristin Burr President, Burr! Productions
Gabrielle Carteris President, SAG-AFTRA
Cindy Chupack Award-winning Writer & TV Producer
Harley Copen Partner & Co-head, Motion Picture Literary Department, ICM
Maha Dakhil Agent, Motion Picture Literary Department, CAA
Mike De Luca Award-winning Producer & President, Michael De Luca Productions
Zanne Devine Producer
Megan Ellison Founder, Annapurna Pictures
Cassian Elwes Award-winning Producer & Founder, Elevated Entertainment
Erik Feig President, PICTURESTART
Paul Feig Award-winning Director & Producer, Feigco Entertainment
Jane Fleming Founding Partner/Producer, Court Five
Sid Ganis Award-winning Producer, Founder, Out of the Blue Entertainment, & Former President of AMPAS
Liz Gateley Producer
Micah Green Principal, 30WEST
Catherine Hardwicke Award-winning Director
Kevin Iwashina Executive Senior Associate, Endeavor Content
Nina Jacobson Award-winning Producer & Founder, Color Force
Charles King Founder & CEO, MACRO
Jenji Kohan Award-winning Writer & Producer, Tilted Productions
Sue Kroll President, Kroll & Co. Entertainment
Karyn Kusama Award-winning Film & TV Director/Writer
Franklin Leonard Founder, The Black List
Linda Lichter Founding Partner, LGNAF
Debbie Liebling Award-winning Producer & President, Red Hour Films
Tonya Lopez EVP, Movies, Limited Series and Original Movie Acquisitions, Lifetime & LMN
Alix Madigan Award-winning Producer
Zola Mashariki Chief Content Officer, One Community, LLC
Glen Mazzara Executive Producer, 44 Strong Productions
Hannah Minghella President of Production, TriStar Pictures
Ryan Murphy Executive Producer & Director, Ryan Murphy Productions
Bruna Papandrea Award-winning Producer, Made Up Stories
Kimberly Peirce Award-winning Director
Lydia Dean Pilcher Award-winning Producer, Founder and CEO, Cine Mosaic, & Vice President of Motion Pictures, PGA
Gigi Pritzker Founder, Madison Wells Media
Keri Putnam Executive Director, Sundance Institute
Amy Retzinger Partner, Verve
Howard Rodman Writer/Producer & Former President, WGA West
Rena Ronson Partner & Head, Independent Film Group, UTA
Jennifer Salke Head of Amazon Studios
Vernon Sanders Co-Head of Television, Amazon Studios
Michelle Satter Director, Feature Film Program, Sundance Institute
Cathy Schulman Award-winning Producer, President, Welle Entertainment, President, Emerita, Women In Film Los Angeles
Stacy L. Smith, PhD Founder & Director, Annenberg Inclusion Initiative, University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
Jill Soloway Executive Producer & Director, Topple Productions
Beatrice Springborn Vice President of Content Development, Hulu
Mimi Steinbauer President & CEO, Radiant Films International
Robin Swicord Award-winning Screenwriter
Betty Thomas Award-winning Actor & Director and First VP, DGA
Christine Vachon Producer & CEO, Killer Films
Joana Vicente Executive Director and Co-Head, TIFF
Paula Wagner Founder & Owner, Chestnut Ridge Productions
Janet Yang Producer, Janet Yang Productions