2020 DGA Nominations

On January 7, 2020, the Directors Guild of America (DGA) announced the nominees for its 72nd annual DGA Awards. The winners will be announced on January 25, 2020. The women nominees are:


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film for 2019
  • 1917, Unit Production Manager: Hannah Godwin
  • THE IRISHMAN, Unit Production Manager: Carla Raij
  • ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD, Unit Production Manager: Georgia Kacandes; Additional Second Assistant Directors: Debbie ChungKatie Pruitt
  • JOJO RABBIT, Second Assistant Director: Martina Götthansová; Second Second Assistant Director: Martina Frimelová
Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director for 2019
  • ATLANTICS, Mati Diop
  • HONEY BOY, Alma Har’el; Second Second Assistant Director: Sarah Balboa
  • QUEEN & SLIM, Melina Matsoukas; Unit Production Manager: Pamela Hirsch; Second Second Assistant Director: Tami Kumin
  • THE LAST BLACK MAN IN SAN FRANCISCO, Unit Production Manager: Natalie Teter


Movies for Television and Limited Series
  • “When They See Us,” Ava DuVernay; Unit Production Manager: Amy Kaufman; Second Second Assistant Director: Amrita Kundu; Additional Second Assistant Director: Kyler Griffin; Location Manager: Charlynne J. Hopson
  • EL CAMINO: A BREAKING BAD MOVIE, Unit Production Manager: Robin Le Chanu; Second Assistant Director: Katy Galow; Additional Second Assistant Director: Melissa Bosco-Laude
  • Nowadays, “Fosse/Verdon,” Unit Production Manager: Erica Kay; First Assistant Director: Deanna Leslie Kelly
  • All I Care About Is Love, “Fosse/Verdon,” Minkie Spiro; Unit Production manager: Erica Kay
  • Glory, “Fosse/Verdon,” Jessica Yu; Unit Production Manager: Erica Kay; First Assistant Director: Deanna Leslie Kelly
Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming
  • 1730, “Real Time with Bill Maher,” Associate Director: Stacy Talbot
  • 40th Anniversary, “CBS Sunday Morning,” Nora S. Gerard; Associate Directors: Jessica FrankKate D’Arcy ColemanPatricia Long FinneganJyll Phillips-FriedmanCatherine Liberatore Kay
  • A. Ocasio-Cortez; Incubus, “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” Associate Directors: Yvonne De MareKaren Yaeger
  • E. Murphy; Lizzo, “Saturday Night Live,” Stage Manager: Gena Rositano
Reality Programs
  • Hog Island, “The Chef Show,” Associate Director: Annie Johnson
  • 103, “First Responders Live,” Associate Director: Jamie Marshall Bennett
Children’s Programs
  • “Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Special,” Stage Manager: Phyllis Digilo-Kent
  • “Song of Parkland,” Amy Schatz
  • Lighter Than Air, HP Elite Dragonfly, Unit Production Manager: Line Postmyr
  • Nap, iPhone, Unit Production Manager: Line Postmyr; Second Assistant Director: Heather Anderson
  • AMERICAN FACTORY, Julia Reichert
  • HONEYLAND, Tamara Kotevska
  • ONE CHILD NATION, Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang